High Density Physics

Lynx Logo

Revealing the Invisible Universe

Physics of High Density Matter, Compact Objects, and Accretion Science Working Group

The Physics of High Density Matter, Compact Objects, and Accretion SWG is pleased to invite applications from the community for active participation and membership. The SWG will be responsible for identifying outstanding science questions on the physics of cold dense matter, black hole spacetimes, GR tests, tidal disruption events, etc., developing a compelling science case, and aiding the STDT with producing a mission concept that best addresses these questions. Please register here by identifying in one or two paragraphs the topics you would like to contribute to, your expertise in these areas, and what tasks you are willing to undertake in support of the study.

Science Working Group Co-Chairs::
 Feryal ÖzelUniversity of Arizona
 Frits PaerelsColumbia University
 Chris ReynoldsUniversity of Maryland
Science Working Group Members:
 Frederick BaganoffMIT
 Slavko BogdanovColumbia University
 Laura BrennemanSmithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
 Deepto ChakrabartyMIT
 Filippo D'AmmandoINAF-IRA Bologna and DIFA University of Bologna
 Keigo FukumuraJames Madison University
 Massimiliano GaleazziUniversity of Miami
 Javier GarciaHarvard-Smithsonian CfA (--> Caltech)
 Hans GuentherMIT
 Sebastien GuillotPontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile
 Craig HeinkeUniversity of Alberta
 Paul HemphillMIT
 Jeroen HomanMIT
 Erin KaraUniversity of Maryland/NASA GSFC
 Oleg KargaltsevThe George Washington University
 Denis LeahyUniversity of Calgary
 Simin MahmoodifarNASA/GSFC
 Peter MaksymHarvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
 Herman MarshallMIT Kavli Institute
 Michael McColloughCXC/SAO/CfA
 Jon MillerUniversity of Michigan
 Cole MillerUniversity of Maryland
 Patrick MotlIndiana University Kokomo
 Emanuele NardiniINAF - Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory
 Joey NeilsenMIT
 Eric PerlmanFlorida Institute of Technology
 David PooleyTrinity University
 Bettina PosseltPennsylvania State University
 Dimitrios PsaltisThe University of Arizona
 Roger RomaniStanford University
 Norbert SchulzMIT
 Gregory SivakoffUniversity of Alberta
 James SteinerMIT
 Francesco TombesiUniversity of Maryland, College Park
 John TomsickUC Berkeley
 Eleonora TrojaUMD, NASA/GSFC
 Giacomo VianelloStanford University
 Dan WilkinsStanford University
 Shuo ZhangMIT Kavli Institute
 Michael ZingaleStony Brook University